Enter your email address to receive new articles by email.



In 2012, Student Member of the Board of Education John Mannes created a countywide press network to help build a conduit to share fresh and relevant information written by youths to the wider Montgomery County student body. As a part of the Student Member of the Board’s Student Advisory Council (SAC), John helped supervise the MoCo Student along with SAC Press Secretary Jessica Li, a student at Richard Montgomery High School. When John graduated from Northwest High School and his term as Student Member of the Board came to a close in June 2013, the MoCo Student separated from the Student Advisory Council and began to expand as a countywide student newspaper not affiliated with the Student Member of the Board. Today, the MoCo Student has over 40 writers, artists, filmmakers, and editors from middle and high schools across Montgomery County.

MoCo Student journalism workshops

A drawing by a 7-year-old student after a series of sessions on photojournalism.

The MoCo Student also conducts weekly or biweekly writing, journalism, and photojournalism workshops for students in elementary school. Many of the workshops highlight school or neighborhood news and relate key parts of journalism’s modern history.






MCPS high school cluster map

Current Staff

Editors (click here for section editors’ biographies)
Jessica Li and Richie Yarrow, Managing Editors
Jana Lu and Christina Xu, Arts and Culture
Julia Di, Community
Matthew Zipf, MCPS
Selin Altintas, Opinions
Sharika Dhar, Politics
Julia Di, School News
Savannah Du, Graphics
Chizobam Ngwazu, Videos

Deepti Agnihotri
Jozette Allah-Mensah
Mahya Bigdeli
Trinish Chatterjee
Jennifer Chen
Amanda Chu
Max Cohen
Leigh Cook
Corrina Davis
Andres Evans-Cuervo
Maryam Ghaderi
Noa Gur-Arie
Nate Kebekabe
Kaamiya Hargis
Yi-Zhi He
Joshua Karpatkin
Sophia Knappertz
Alessandra Lowry
David Alejandro Mejia
Cindy Monge Rosales
Ngozi Nwanji
Ramida Phoolsombat
Max Rykov
Jadie Stillwell
Yian Tang
Sarah Wagner
Emily Zhang

Graphic Artists
Trinish Chatterjee
Nola Chen
Nina Enagonio
Nate Kebekabe
Mio Linehan
Eva Shen
Cynthia Song
Michelle Tu
Samantha Wright

Ali Friedman
Maryam Ghaderi
Kaamiya Hargis
Brieanna Iyomahan
Ramida Phoolsombat
Alexis Salcedo
Jadie Stillwell