Receive email updates!

Enter your email address to receive new articles by email.

Connect on Social Media

Google +1Youtube

MCPS Students Named National Merit, Presidential Scholars

Earlier today, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation named 21 MCPS high school seniors as National Merit Scholars, each of whom will receive a $2,500 scholarship. This past September, the National Merit program released its list of semifinalists, selected based on PSAT scores. Richard Montgomery and Blair High Schools had the most semifinalists, at 34 and 32 students respectively. Five Blair students and six RM students were selected for the scholarship.

In addition, Emily Yang (Richard Montgomery HS) and Patrick Cha (Bethesda-Chevy Chase HS) were named U.S. Presidential Scholars, based on nominations, standardized test scores, academic records, and extracurricular work. They will join other students from across the country to be honored by the White House at a ceremony in June.

The following is the list of National Merit Scholars, by school:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
Gur-Arie, Noa X.
Rubashkin, Jacob S.

Montgomery Blair High School
Burton, Mari-Therese S.
Subramanian, Arjuna M.
Wagner, Sarah L.
Xu, Jingjing
Xue, Catherine S.

Winston Churchill High School
Lu, Marisa R.
Singh, Chaitanya

Richard Montgomery High School
Deng, Myra Y.
Wang, Catherine C.
Yang, Helen L.
Yao, Ellen X.
Yarrow, Richard L.
Zipf, Matthew F.

Walt Whitman High School
Brenner, Talia
Phillips, Lauren M.

Thomas S. Wootton High School
Dai, Jack Z.
Danoff, Alex A.
Kottage, Nipun
Neves, Paul M.

About The MoCo Student

In 2012, Student Member of the Board of Education John Mannes created a countywide press network to help build a conduit to share fresh and relevant information written by youth to the wider Montgomery County student body.

View all Articles

Leave a Comment