Receive email updates!

Enter your email address to receive new articles by email.

Connect on Social Media

Google +1Youtube

MCR Welcomes New Leadership Team for 2015-2016 School Year

Over 160 students from high schools across MCPS gathered at Paint Branch High School this past Tuesday to elect the officers for the 2015-2016 Montgomery County Regional Student Government Association leadership team.

Two students from Richard Montgomery High School, sophomore David Edimo and Matthew Pease, were respectively elected the next MCR president and secretary. With Edimo elected, four out of the past five MCR presidents had been students of Richard Montgomery High School. Edimo marks the first sophomore to have won the position in over a decade.

Prim Phoolsombat of Blair High School won the race for vice presidency, while Ally Anderson of Damascus High School will serve as the next MCR treasurer.

A total of ten candidates ran for office this year. According to MCR president Richard Yarrow, there were more candidacies filed this year compared to last year.

“I can’t wait to continue our work supporting and advocating for Montgomery County students,” wrote Edimo in a social media post, adding that staff applications for next year’s executive board will soon be available.

The newly elected leadership team will take office in late May.


About The MoCo Student

In 2012, Student Member of the Board of Education John Mannes created a countywide press network to help build a conduit to share fresh and relevant information written by youth to the wider Montgomery County student body.

View all Articles

Leave a Comment